The Tell with Christine Axsmith
The Tell on Cults Quacks and Persuasion
Sentience and AI
0:00
-22:26

Sentience and AI

A discussion of human folly

The idea that a data-vacuuming computer program is now sentient would mean that man can create life, like G-d. It’s not like I’d worry about a new replacement theory, one with Google algorithms replacing people. In fact, I’d almost welcome it, all things considered.

It’s preposterous, of course. And like many smart people before him, this Google engineer is just being silly. Did I tell you my little German village story? In my Mother’s German village of Bad Kissingen, on December 31st, 1899, an entire church congregation gave away everything they owned and went to the top of the mountain nearby and waited for the end of the Earth. Eventually they had to come down and admit their mistake. “Did they get their stuff back?” I asked my Mother. “That is not the point!” said my Mother. “They all did this stupid thing because their pastor told them to.”

0 Comments
The Tell with Christine Axsmith
The Tell on Cults Quacks and Persuasion
On resisting cults, quacks and abusive partners. This is a place to discuss breaking free and making change in the world. It is a place to rediscover your personal power and to laugh at the people making money trying to scare you.
Technology, people and politics keeps us wrapped in the same bubble of feeling powerless. Fight back.